A Day in the Life of My iPhone

Amid the criticism and rancor of the iPhone from my daughters, I maintain that:  “Yes, the use of an iPhone can lead to a happy, healthy and more productive life.” During the course of a day it comes to my aid constantly. This is my iPhone’s daily routine:

5:30 a.m.: After analyzing my sleep patterns with analytical precision over the last week, Sleep Cycle App gently arouses me from a much need night of  gentle slumber while in a stage of light sleep.  It avoids awaking me while  in a stage of deep sleep thus leaving me rested but alert.

6:00 a.m.: I arrive at the gym ready to work out and check my iFitness App  to map my progress and keep with the physical fitness program I so  desperately need to lose some weight.

6:05 a.m.: I use my Stitcher Radio App and check out my favorite podcasts  without ever having to download a podcast.  The podcasts are already organized and ready to stream to my iPhone while I workout. How’s that for efficiency.

6:50 a.m.: I pull into the local Starbucks and check my card to see how much I still have on my Gold Card and learn that yes, I am just a couple of purchases away from a free drink which I can use bribe one of my daughter’s into accepting the inevitable truth that the iPhone is a gift from the gods.

7:00 a.m.: Once at home, having delivered a hot coffee to my lovely wife and  feeling her warm embrace, I sit on the throne and check my calendar for the  week ahead, review some of my favorite blogs and scan the various news  sources available at my fingertips such MSNBC, the New York Times, CBS, and  others.

8:00 a.m.: Dressed and ready for action, I check my telephone for old messages and make a few calls and check my emails before I make the trip into the office where mountains of work and phone calls await.
8:20 a.m.: I pull up the Sound Hound App and play some tunes for the 45 minute road trip to work.  Traffic comes to a screeching halt while stuck on the interstate highway. I pull up my 5-0 Radio App which doubles as a  weather and police scanner.  I learn that a construction related accident is  apparently responsible for the delay.  I wait and wait and wait.

9:30 a.m.: I’m finally at work and again make a few phone calls and check out my email accounts. I can rapidly search and read my emails.

Noon:  Time for lunch?  While chilling at the local Starbucks, I  relieve my burdening stress with the SelfHypnosis App which talks me down off  the ledge filling my mind with positive suggestions and goals to pursue.  A  soothing female voice guides me to a place of serenity and relaxation while I bath in the afternoon rays of the sun.  Chimes awaken me from my self-induced trance.

 4:00 p.m.: Time to check what on the cable tonight so I pull up my iTV App.  You can see everything on you television cable system without ever pulling up a menu or even turning on the television.  Alas, Mad Men is preempted and so I look elsewhere for my evening fare.

Evening arrives and with Flixster at the touch of my fingers I can scan the latest movie releases, watch trailers, read reviews, and scout local theater times. You can browse DVDs as well.  But wait, there’s more.

Before a night on the town, a feast it is.  Recipes and shopping list can electronically be created. The “How to Cook Everything” AppBook works well in my kitchen for a fraction of the cost of the hardbound edition and is easier to search and much more versital.

Finally, for those who feel happiness is unattainable, there is the Live Happy App to help you reevaluate your goals and priorities in life. It systematically reviews things that have brought you a sense of well-being and happiness.

Now its time to let my iPhone recharge and yes there is an app for that as well.  So goodnight and good luck…

About Richard A. Cook

Richard Cook graduated from Purdue University in the Economics Honor Program in 1979 and obtained his Juris Doctor degree from Valparaiso University School of Law in 1982. Following law school, Richard served as a federal law clerk in the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Indiana, Hammond Division. In 1984, Richard began working as Deputy Prosecutor for the Lake County Prosecutor's Office and from there, served as Assistant U. S. Attorney for the Northern District of Indiana, South Bend Division. There he handled a number of complex criminal matters and jury trials. While there, Richard received the Chief Postal Inspector's Special Award and a letter of commendation from the U.S. Attorney General for his work prosecuting a major money order fraud scheme being perpetrated out of the Indiana State Prison system. Since leaving the U.S. Attorney's office in 1989, Richard has focused primarily on civil work and is currently a member of the firm Yosha Cook & Tisch in Indianapolis. Richard is also a member of the ITLA, IBA and the ABA, as well as, a fellow for the American College of Trial Lawyers. He is AV rated by Martindale-Hubbell.

Posted on August 1, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

